Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

siri-687107_1280As usual, summer is the time when I try to read as many books as I possibly can before I have to go back to university and surrender my life to assigned reading for the next eight months. This month, I have read 11 books, not exactly as many as I hoped, though a decent amount to make a small progress in my to-read list.

  1. Persephone’s Orchard – Molly Ringlepomegranate-open-196800_1920

As I have written many times before… I love reading retellings of the Hades & Persephone myth.

A quick summary… Hades, the Greek God of the underworld fell in love with Persephone, the goddess of spring. Hades lured Persephone to the underworld where she ate a few pomegranate seeds (the Ancient Greek version of “I’ll just have a salad” while on a first date). After eating the seeds, Persephone was trapped in the underworld. Persephone’s mother, Demeter (the goddess of the harvest) was furious at Hades. They struck a deal. During the winter, Persephone must spend all of her time in the underworld until spring time. Then, she can return to the earth and bring spring time (with bunnies & flowers and stuff) to mankind. Basically, this myth was used to explain the changing of the seasons.

Anyway, I love reading retellings of this story where Hades isn’t the borderline stalkerish jerk he is in the Greek myths.  Persephone’s Orchard is one of such retellings that breathed a new life into an old myth. It was a refreshing read.

2. Daughter of Smoke & Bone – Laini Taylor

eyes-1283163_1920This was my favorite book that I read this month. I had no idea what I was getting into when I decided to read Daughter of Smoke & Bone. It was incredible! Just incredible! The story begins with Karou, a young art student studying in Prague who can’t get rid of her ex-boyfriend, Kazimir. The first few chapters are extremely humorous, especially when Kazimir decides to volunteer as a nude model in Karou’s art class so that she would notice him and take him back. To Kazimir’s surprise, Karou does the complete opposite. She begins to make wishes on her magical necklace for Kaz to become really itchy while posing in the nude.

Karou’s wishes are payment for her job to retrieve teeth from all around the world. Behind Karou’s seemingly ordinary life is a dark secret. She was raised by chimaera, creatures who are half human and half animal. Their work is to collect teeth and grant wishes. One day, during one of Karou’s missions, she notices that the portals she uses to complete her missions are being destroyed one by one.

I have read that there is potential for a film adaptation. I absolutely can’t wait!

3. Go Set a Watchman – Harper Lee

locomotive-222174_1920I had bought a beautiful hardcover copy of this book at my library’s book fair a few months ago. I adore when books are kept in such pristine condition. It warms my cold heart! Except, the story did nothing to make me want to keep it on my shelves as soon as I was finished. Go Set a Watchman is the sequel to To Kill a Mockingbird. The entire book sounds like a trashy piece of fanfiction. I do not know why or how I ended up finishing it, but it quickly left my house as soon as it entered.

4. Days of Blood & Starlight – Laini Taylor

costume-2092602_1920As soon as I finished Daughter of Smoke & Bone, I had to jump into the sequel. It was calling my name! I will not spoil the book for those who haven’t read it. I will just say, it was awesome!

5. Night of Cake & Puppets – Laini Taylor

This novella of the Daughter of Smoke & Bone series occurs in the first book. It is about how Mik and Zuzana fall in love. Anyway, it is a sweet little romance that I read in one sitting. I wish it could have been longer.

6. Obsidian – Jennifer L. Armentrout

Aoutdoor-2080206_1920lthough Obsidian received many favorable reviews from book reviewers that I follow, I really didn’t not like it. To me, it is basically a Twilight rip-off. The main character may be a bit less zombie-like than Bella Swan, and she does (at least) have a hobby other than boy watching, she was really bland. The love interest was just a jerk.

7. Legend – Marie Lu

Dystopian_cityI was so excited to finally have time to begin this series. I am currently reading the third book in this series! Legend is a dystopian novel akin to 1984 but geared towards a young adult audience. The story is told through alternating perspectives of two fifteen-year-olds. Day is the Republic’s most wanted criminal after causing mayhem to bring the Republic down. June is a prodigy who received a perfect score on her trials. Meanwhile, a series of plagues threaten to destroy the entire nation.

8. Dreams of Gods & Monsters – Laini Taylor

mask-2454442_1920The last book in the Daughter of Smoke & Bone series.

9. The 100 – Kass Morgan

abstract-740257_1280Ergh! I didn’t like this book! It is so poorly written that it took me 3 years to finish it. I first began reading the book in 2014 when the first season of the television series adaptation was released. I love the t.v. series, but the book is awful. easter-eggs-252874_1920

 

10. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl

I don’t really know what’s wrong with me. I waited over twenty years of my life to experience this book. Honestly, what was I waiting for! I loved watching the movie adaptations when I was a kid. Sometimes I would watch them back-to-back over and over (or maybe it was because my DVD collection wasn’t very big and Netflix wasn’t a thing).

11. Prodigy – Marie Lu

The second book in the Legend series.

So, mostly this month, I have been beginning and finishing different series. Usually, I don’t tend to read books in a series one after the other. It was a refreshing change.

Until Next Time,

-Alice

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

