Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I finally meet a guy who’s interesting and who seems to have a half-interest in me and it is TOTALLY the wrong time and place” – Waterfall, Lisa T. Bergren

Initial Thoughts: Medieval Italy. Italian guys. Romance. Time travel. Need I say more? As soon as I read the premise, I was quickly drawn into this world of intrigue, battles and romance. In less than a week and a half I finished the first three books and I am hungry for the fourth.siena-1797838_1920

Plot Summary

Most American teenagers want a vacation in Italy, but the Betarrini sisters have spent every summer of their lives among the romantic hills with their archaeologist parents. Stuck among the rubble of the medieval castles in rural Tuscany, on yet another hot, dusty archaeological site, Gabi and Lia are bored out of their minds…until Gabi places her hand atop a handprint in an ancient tomb and finds herself in fourteenth-century Italy. And worse yet, in the middle of a fierce battle between knights of two opposing forces” (Goodreads), Waterfall, Lisa T. Bergren

Goodreads

About the Book

Title: Waterfall

Author: Lisa T. Bergren

Series: River of Time (Book #1: Waterfall, Book #2: Cascade, Book #3: Torrent, Book #4: Deluge)

Year Published: 2011

Pages: 369

Genres: Fiction, Young Adult, Time-Travel, Romance, Fantasy, Historical Fiction

The Review

I loved every minute of listening to this audiobook, all ten and a half hours of it. Waterfall isn’t your typical travel-back-in-time novel. This one is full of sword fighting, war, and romance. It has been compared to The Hunger Games, however, I find this comparison very misleading. Instead, the best comparison would be that Waterfall is a lot like Outlander except that it is for young adults, it takes place in Italy, and it takes place during the 1300s.

One of the most noticeable features of this novel is its characters. Gabriella (Gabi) Betarrini, the heroine of the novel is not a damsel in distress. She is a sword-fighting she-wolf of Siena who will fight alongside her romantic love interest. Gabriella is a breath of fresh air amongst the many heroines (cough cough Bella Swan) who are so useless that they trip over their own feet. I also appreciated Gabi’s humour although it sounded a little cheesy and corny at times.

Then there is the dashingly charismatic, handsome, and romantic Marcello Forelli (the love interest). It is difficult not to fall in love with Marcello. He is chivalrous and at the same time, he appreciates Gabriella for her bravery. Whenever the narrator (Gabriella) would sigh at the sight of Marcello, I found myself thinking the same thing. It is difficult not to fall in love with Marcello. I dare you not to fall into his Italian charms.

I also appreciated the fast-pace of this novel. Honestly, there was never a dull moment. One moment there was a brief and romantic scene, and then suddenly a battle, and lots of sword fighting. If you are thinking that this is just another “princess book” for teenagers, think again. At some moments, I found myself hanging onto every word. At every twist and turn I found my eyes growing wide in shock. I was so entranced with this novel that after finishing Waterfall, I quickly embarked into Cascade (book 2) which leaves off right after the events of Waterfall. I read both novels as if they were one novel. I recently finished Torrent (book 3) shortly after finishing Cascade. I am in a breathless awe over this marvelous series. Waterfall is one of those books that I wish that more people would know about. Chances are, if it were well-known, it would garner a large fan base on the same level as The Hunger Games or the Divergent series.

I would definitely recommend for fans of sword wielding heroines who are not just pretty little damsels in distress. If you are looking for something with battles, and good looking Italian guys, this is the book for you.

Final Rating: A –

Until Next Time,

-Alice

 

 

 

