Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

Didn’t they know who I was, what they’d trained me for? I was Eadlyn Schreave. No one was more powerful than me.

So if they thought I was going down without a fight, they were sadly mistaken” – The Heir, Kiera Cass

Initial Thoughts: In spite of my initial reservations, I greatly enjoyed the first three Selection novels. I decided to give this one a try out of curiosity. It has been nearly one year since I read this novel, however, I remember it as being the book that was my greatest disappointment of 2016. Brace yourself for this review.allgau-178081_1280

Summary

Twenty years after America Singer fell in love with Prince Maxon, their daughter, Princess Eadlyn, has now come of age to choose a husband. Like her father before her, Eadlyn must go through the selection, a televized event where young bachelors compete to marry the future ruler of the kingdom. But, Eadlyn is not interested in romance. As political unrest begins to shake the fabric of her nation, Eadlyn has no choice but to put on a show as dozens of eligible bachelors make their way into her kingdom. As tension begins to grow, could one of them break through her icy heart?

About the Book

Title: The Heir (The Selection #4)

Author: Kiera Cass

Series: The Selection (book #1: The Selection, book #2 The Elite, book #3 The One, book #4 The Heir)

Year Published: 2015

Pages: 342

Genres: Young Adult fiction, fiction, romance,

The Review

The Heir is the fourth book in the Selection series. It picks up twenty years after the events of the last book in the series. Instead of focusing on America Singer, the leading lady of The Selection series, The Heir has chosen a new protagonist, Princess Eadlyn. Princess Eadlyn is a stark contrast to America Singer. After reading the first three novels of The Selection series, I can’t help but wonder… what was this author thinking?!? Princess Eadlyn, is an obnoxious prig, simple as that. She does not possess the likeable qualities of her mother, America. Eadlyn is spoiled and selfish and doesn’t really care about anyone else but herself. If you are wondering who I want her to end up with at the end of the selection? My answer: No one! No one! No one!

Not only do I dislike the main character, the plot is drab enough to make me snooze.  The Heir is nearly 100% similar to the first book, The Selection, with the gender roles reversed. As the early Selection novels resemble the television show The Bachelor, The Heir is equivalent to The Bachelorette. In this case, one young woman is the object of affection for many young men. While I have nothing against reversing the gender roles, there wasn’t enough uniqueness in the plot to make it stand out in my mind. On top of all this, the author used similar plot devices, similar secondary characters (gender reversed). The boring plot narrated in Eadlyn’s obnoxious self-entitled voice made it difficult to finish this book.

I’m happy, Ahren. I’m a princess. I have everything” The Heir, Kiera Cass

As for Eadlyn’s possible romantic interests, they are all so very bland it is difficult to remember who is who. The only developed personality is Kile, and even then, it appears as if I had already encountered such a character before. In other words, very predictable. Too predictable.

All in all, this book was a major waste of time. The Selection series has two more books after this one, but after this disaster, I will avoid them like the plague. For those who enjoy the television show The Bachelor or The Bachelorette, I would suggest the first three Selection novels, but do not go any further. You are not missing out.

 Final Rating: F!

Until Next Time,

-Alice

