Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

The way you get meaning into your life is to devote yourself to loving others, devote yourself to your community around you, and devote yourself to creating something that gives you purpose and meaning” –Tuesdays With Morrie, Mitch Albom

Initial Thoughts: I had found this book lying in a heap of various novels at a book fair at my local library. I had seen Tuesdays With Morrie on the Goodreads list “Books you have to read before you die.” As I am an absolute overachiever, I am currently trying to read all the books on that list in spite of interest. I had no idea what Tuesdays With Morrie was about or that it is a true story, I only knew that I should read it according to Goodreads.cemetery-1472149_1920

Summary

Tuesdays With Morrie documents the conversations between a young man, Mitch, and his professor, Morrie, during their meetings every Tuesdays. But these were not ordinary meetings. Morrie was slowly dying of ALS and wished to pass on his life lessons to his beloved student from the perspective of a dying man. Morrie imparts his wisdom of his life experience in this thought-provoking memoir.

Goodreads

About the Book

Title: Tuesdays With Morrie

Author: Mitch Albom

Series: N/A

Pages: 210

Year Published: 1997

Genres: Non-fiction, memoir, biography

The Review

                When I was fifty pages into the novel, I went on Goodreads to read a few reviews on Tuesdays With Morrie. There was someone who mentioned that he would jump out of a window if he had found his girlfriend with this book on her nightstand. Guess where my book was as I was reading this review… you guessed it, on my nightstand. Tuesdays With Morrie tends to prompt strong feelings on two opposite spectrums. This is the sort of book where many will hate the book, or they will adore the book. In my case, I am on the fence.

First of all, I loved reading about Morrie, but I couldn’t stand Mitch after a while. If you want a reason to read this novel, then I would say to read it for Morrie. Mitch, the narrator, tries to spew moral lessons in each chapter. It seemed as if he were condemning those with any sort of ambition. What is wrong with having career goals? I kept wondering. While I appreciate that Mitch explains over and over that family, friends, and community is more important than chasing after a promotion, the way he harps on and on about it is a deterrent.

Another reason why I found this book difficult to enjoy is the fact that it is too cheesy to be sincere. Some of the moments between Mitch and Morrie seemed to sound like a motivational lecture. While I do not wish to condemn motivational speakers or their lectures, I would have preferred that Mitch Albom would have taken a different approach to conveying Morrie’s messages. Luckily, Morrie’s sincerity shines through by his examples and his unique views of the world in spite of Mitch’s agenda.

After reading this novel, I wouldn’t place this book amongst the books that will “change your life” as it is so often proclaimed. Morrie’s struggle with death made this book worth reading. I am glad that through this book I was able to meet Morrie and learn about his philosophies. If there is one thing that I will take away from this book, it is definitely Morrie’s views on death and popular culture. And, without spoilers, I have to admit that I cried at the end. However, the style in which this book is written overshadowed Morrie’s struggle with death. Instead, most of the book is dedicated to Mitch proving his closeness to Morrie. It was as if he wanted to say in as many ways as possible that he was the only one who understood Morrie’s teachings. Which is why, unfortunately, I probably won’t be reading any other works by Mitch Albom any time soon.

Final rating: C

Until next time,

-Alice

 

 

