Tags

, ,

Every time I finish a book, I find myself discovering another 2-3 books to read. Honestly, my to-read list is endless, expanding like the universe. Though, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

This week, I finally begun reading American Gods by: Neil Gaiman on the insistence of my friend who adores everything anfantasy-2437944_1920d anything by Neil Gaiman. I didn’t really know what it was about. The main character has an interesting name. It’s not Bob, Kevin, or Stuart, it’s Shadow Moon. At first, I thought it was his nickname. His nickname is.. puppy. This would sound like an adorable nickname if not for Shadow being a recently released prisoner. As soon as Shadow is released from prison, he suddenly learns that his wife and best friend died in a car crash. Then, a mysterious man named Mr. Wednesday appears and wants to offer Shadow a job. So far, I am not far enough into the book to have any sort of definitive opinion.

[Side note: At the moment, American Gods is being aired on the Starz network as a television series].

At work, I amcostume-2092602_1920 currently listening to Days of Blood & Starlight by: Laini Taylor. This is the second book in the Daughter of Smoke & Bone series.  I already wrote about book #1 in Currently Reading #1.   Usually, it takes me a while to complete a series. Chances are, I will probably have all three books read by the end of the month.

For some odd reason, I find myself comparing Days of Blood & Starlight to the anime The Devil is a Part-Timer. The Devil is a Part-Timer is a Japanese animated series about a devil working in a fast food restaurant. It’s slightly absurd and highly comical, unlike Days of Blood & Starlight. I must be crazy to compare them! Here is a clip:

I am slowly (but surely) reading Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee. So far, I can see why people would dislike the book. The book is a real dream crusher for those who have always regarded Atticus Finch as a great American hero. It also feels as if the book was written by a completely different author. It is told in third person unlike To Kill a Mockingbird, which is told in first person through Scout’s perspective. There is also a character who is not “present” in Go Set a Watchman from To Kill a Mockingbird. I was really disappointed by this.

I find Go Set a Watchman to be very slow paced, which is why it’s taking me so long to finish. As I am writing this, I have about one hundred pages to go. Unlike the majority of reviewers, I don’t hate the book so far. I can’t say that I love it. But, I like the fact that the book is a coming-of-age story that doesn’t gloss over how difficult it is to let go of childhood.

That is all for this week!

Until Next Time,

-Alice

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

