Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

When I began my new years resolutions, I decided to write at least one post (preferably a blog post) per week. For many book bloggers out there, writing one book review a day is routine for them. As long as I remain a full-time university student, one book review per week is all I can manage. But, I decided to post short “currently reading” posts to give you a little update about the books I am currently reading.

Here goes nothing!

Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray

I began reading Vanity Fair in April. It is enormous! My edition contains nearly 900 pages! So far, I have reached page 260.british-2023201_1280

I was assigned to read Vanity Fair for a university course coming up in the fall on Victorian novels. I have to read a total of seven novels in that class, so I decided to start early. Unfortunately, up until now, I have been procrastinating. It is not that I dislike Vanity Fair. As I have to read it for a course, I find reading Vanity Fair equivalent to homework. Who wants to do homework during summer holidays!

So far, in moments when I found reading Vanity Fair enjoyable, I actually laughed aloud. Vanity Fair is a satire on English society. No one, no social class escapes the acknowledgement of the author who plays with his characters as if they were marionettes. Supposedly, there is no hero in the story. Even though I am only 260 pages in, I believe that Becky Sharpe is as close as we are going to get to a heroine. Becky is an orphan social climber whose goal is to live comfortably at whatever cost. She is certainly not an angel, but she isn’t the villain that others make her out to be.

The Poisonwood Bible – Barbara Kingslover

I found this book one month ago at my local library’s book sale. I was really curious about this book because I had found it in a Goodreads list amongst the best books of all time. Also, one of my friends really liked this book and recommended it to me.

The Poisonwood Bible is about a missionary, his wife and four daughters as they adjust to living in the Congo during the nineteen fifties. Basically, this book is about colonization. Each chapter is told through the perspective of a different daughter. Each of the daughters have really unique narrative voices. I like how Kingslover chose them to tell a story about colonization because they are unaware of what is going on around them.

The book reminds me a lot of Joseph Conrad’s Heart of Darknesslake-562749_1920

But, the story is very very very slow. It is an interesting concept, but the story lags greatly. Reading this book has become a chore. It is strange that I feel this way because the writing is very fluid and expressive. At this moment, I am a little less than halfway through the book. I will try to finish it by the end of the summer. Hopefully.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone – Laini Taylor

cemetery-1655378_1920I am currently listening to this book in audiobook form. I had seen the cover art on Goodreads, and decided to read the book without paying attention to the synopsis. Now that I am 30% into the book, I read the synopsis of the book. I find the synopsis very misleading. The book is advertised to be about angels and devils. Instead, this book is so much more than that. It is so fresh and unique for a young adult novel. I love it. I really do.

Persephone’s Orchard – Molly Ringle

I found tpomegranate-open-196800_1920his book by chance a few days ago, and I am nearly finished. Honestly, I am speed-reading through this novel. I adore retellings of the Hades & Persephone myth. I have read so many that I probably should find the subject overly used and boring. This retelling is completely different from the other retellings that I have read. It is absolutely wonderful.

