Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

black-33843_1280Book sales are both wonderful and deadly at the same time. The book fanatic species, more commonly known as the bookworm, will decorate its nesting ground with books of all subjects and lengths. Be warned, the bookworm may appear to be calm and friendly, but in the jungle of the book sale, they can become very greedy. The bookius wormius glassius is a young woman with glasses who attends the book sale with the hopes of finding just one or two books. But, lets be realistic, the bookius wormius glassius will do no such thing, there is no way she will be satisfied with one book. Rather, she will buy 32 books at the end of the book sale where one box of books goes for $5.

Admittedly, I am a bookius wormius glassius.

A while ago, I found myself at the largest annual book sale held by my local library. The moment I arrived, I found myself in awe of all the books stacked and arranged on tables. It was pure heaven. My bookworm instincts clicked in. Lucky for me, I was also volunteering at the book sale, so I ended up staying until long after closing time.

Before my time to volunteer began, I found myself glancing at the non-fiction books designated as “other.” There weren’t many people around this area since the books were rather eclectic in subject, and the shelves were small. I do not enjoy having someone look over my shoulder when I am browsing for books. In the world of the bookworm, book sales are perfect places for what I call “vultures.” These are the people who believe that they should read more, but don’t. I can emphasise, I wish I could have the patience to watch more television. Alas, we all have our own priorities. Unfortunately, this means that at every table I would go, in which there was no one else, would suddenly flood with two or three people. In their minds, they are probably thinking “there must be something there at her table! Look! She’s picking up books.”

There are all kinds of people at a book sale. I encountered many people as I volunteered. It was easy to distinguish the book lovers from the vultures. At the end of the book sale, there was a special promotion where you could fill an entire box of books and pay $5. I jumped on the idea, and I ended up purchasing $10 worth of books for a total of 32 books. I had planned on buying just one or two, but my addiction to books is way too strong.

Here are the books that I bought:

  1. Forest Gump – Winston Groom
  2. A Thousand Splendid Suns – Khaled Hosseini
  3. Tuesdays with Morrie – Mitch Albom
  4. Life as We Knew it – Susan Beth Pfeffer
  5. Once Upon a Marigold – Jean Ferris
  6. The Juliet Club – Suzanne Harper
  7. War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
  8. Tess of the D’Ubervilles – Thomas Hardy
  9. The Hundred Foot Journey – Richard C. Morris
  10. If I Have a Wicked Stepmother, Where’s my Prince? – Melissa Kantor
  11. This Glittering World – T. Greenwood
  12. The Evolution of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin
  13. The Queen’s Fool – Philippa Gregory
  14. The White Queen – Philippa Gregory
  15. Henry IV – William Shakespeare
  16. Princess in Love – Meg Cabot
  17. Airhead – Meg Cabot
  18. The Poisonwood Bible – Barbara Kingsolver
  19. The Nanny Diaries – Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus
  20. Contes de Bucherons – Jean-Claude Dupont
  21. Fascination (Twilight) – Stephenie Meyer
  22. I Capture the Castle – Dodie Smith
  23. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – Steig Larsson
  24. Early Greek Philosophy – Jonathan Barnes
  25. The Quick – Lauren Owen
  26. A Ring of Endless Light – Madeleine L’Engle
  27. Skipping Christmas – John Grisham
  28. Le Petit Prince – Antoine de Saint-Exupery
  29. Alan Turing : The Enigma – Andrew Hodges
  30. Go Set a Watchman – Harper Lee
  31. Au Nom de Tous les Miens – Martin Gray
  32. Blue Bloods – Melissa de la Cruz

The ones that I have already read before are in bold.

I decided to try buying as many French novels as possible so that I can practice my French. Unfortunately, there wasn’t a large French section. However, I am glad that I was able to find a few French novels.

All in all, the book sale was a large success! There are so many that I can’t wait to read. So many books too little time!

 

Until next time,

 

-Alice

