Tags

, , , , ,

What’s your angle?” I asked, trying to sound more playful than demanding.
“Isosceles,” Jack quipped” – My Blood Approves, Amanda Hocking

First impressions: When I read this book for the first time over four years ago, I was going through a vampire-craze. I wanted to read anything that resembled Twilight or The Vampire Diaries. Four years later, I decided to re-read this book to see if I would still like it. I wasn’t sure since my taste in books has drastically changed (for the better).

Plot Summarypair-633684_1280

Alice Bonham is a typical seventeen-year-old girl who is destined to be her best friend Jane’s sidekick forever. One night, after their fake ID’s wouldn’t let them get into the club, Jane and Alice end up getting followed by creeps. Then, a random guy named Jack shows up and saves them. Jack and Alice feel an instant connection, and they feel compelled to be together. But then, Alice begins to notice that Jack isn’t what he seems to be. His skin is not the right temperature, he only shows up at night, he heals quickly, and… he doesn’t eat around Alice. Could he be… a vampire?

Goodreads | Indigo (N/A) | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

About the Book

Title: My Blood Approves

Author: Amanda Hocking

Year Published: 2010

Pages: 278

Series: My Blood Approves (book #1), Fate (book #2), Flutter (book #3), Wisdom (book #4), Swear (book #5)

Genres: young adult fiction, paranormal fiction, romance, vampires

The Review

This is my second time reading this book. I first read the book a few years ago while I was a teenager. I was captivated by the characters and stayed up until the wee hours of the morning to finish the book. After re-reading My Blood Approves, I am left feeling completely ambivalent, which I was not expecting. Is it because I had already read it before and knew what was coming, or was it that my tastes in novels has changed?

Like Stephenie Meyer’s vampire novel  Twilight, My Blood Approves features a burgeoning love triangle. Alice is placed into the awkward position of having feelings for Jack… and his brother Peter. In comparison to other love triangles seen in young adult fiction, this one isn’t the most exciting. Peter is an interesting enough character, but the author gives very little insight into his motivation, which is frustrating! He tends to come off as a jerk, even though the other characters assure that he isn’t. Meanwhile, Jack is like an overgrown child at an amusement park who does not realize the consequences of his actions. Which one is more likeable? It depends on your own tastes. When I first read My Blood Approves I was definitely team Peter all the way. Now, I’m on team Neither. Neither of the Townsend brothers have personality enough to capture my attention.

This time around I found the book to be more like a Twilight carbon copy. The characters were unoriginal and completely flat. In spite of the lack of originality, this book is still very entertaining. For those who still need their daily dose of teen vampire fiction, this is a decent book. (Believe me when I say, I have read a lot worst). Though it doesn’t not rank very high in comparison to, say,  Interview with the Vampire . Do not dive into this book expecting to ask questions about what it means to be human. Instead, you are more likely to wonder, “where are this girl’s parents?” I would call this book a quintessential vampire beach read.

 

Final rating: C (okay)

 

Until next time,

-Alice

