Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi,

It has been a while since I had last posted anything. Now I am back from my long hiatus hoping to bring more posts your way! Yay!

Whenever I write something, I like to listen to music. There must be something within music itself that inspires me to write. Unfortunately, if I listen to music with words, I will get caught up in the lyrics and forget what I am putting down on paper. Usually, I listen to film scores.

Sometimes someone will ask me:

“Hey Alice, what are you listening to?”

I will respond: “the film score to (insert film name here).”

Suddenly, I can see a confused expression upon their face, “what’s that?”

“It’s the music played in the background during a movie.” Rough definition, I know. I have never been very good at explaining things.” I have never heard any music playing in the background.”

Well, that is to be expected. A film score is meant to heighten or to take away emotion from the film. Like in the movie Jaws for instance, the iconic theme to Jaws stirs suspense within. Are you conscious of it? Probably not if the composer is doing his or her job.

And now without further adieu, here are my top 5 favorite film scores:

1. The Lion in Winter Suite – John Barry (from: The Lion in Winter)

I am not sure why I like this one so much. Maybe it’s because of the Latin.  I have never seen the movie before.

2.  The Meadow – Alexandre Desplat (from: New Moon)

Most of us nowadays condemn Twilight fans for being Twilight fans. I understand… vampires don’t sparkle. I am not as much of a fan of Edward Cullen as I used to be in my younger more frivolous years. I have moved on to crushing on different vampires like Lestat and Damon Salvatore. Even if you are not a Twilight fan, I recommend listening to this film score . All of Desplat’s film scores are extremely beautiful.

3. No Time for Caution – Hans Zimmer (from: Interstellar)

 

If you are a fan of film scores, the name Hans Zimmer will probably ring a bell. He has composed for many well known movies including Inception, The Lion King, and Gladiator. Interstellar is one of my newest favorite movies. If you haven’t seen it and love sci-fi/space movies, please watch it!

4. Dawn – Dario Marianelli (from Pride and Prejudice [2005] )

So pretty!

  1. Awaken – Dario Marianelli (from Jane Eyre [2011])

Another amazing film score from Dario Marianelli!

Have a good weekend!

IMG_1638

