Tags

, , , , , , ,

Imagine this…

You’re a child at a typical birthday party. Someone yells “time for cake!” The tiny partygoers with squeaky high pitched voices cry out “cake!cake!cake!” The cake is presented before your eyes. It looks delicious and mouth-watering. Happy Birthday is sung rapidly. Candles are blown out in a swift puff of air.

“Here Alice,” someone presents a large piece of pound cake. The frosting was too good to be true.

“Um… no thank you.” Suddenly, everyone freezes.

“What!”

“Um… I don’t really like cake.”

“Don’t like… don’t like… how could this be… no… you’re joking… how could anyone dislike cake?”

This scenario played out over and over again until I got older and knew better just to accept the cake with a smile. I have been called strange, weird, and an alien because I don’t like pound cake. I am sure there must be someone out there like me. Anyone??

I believed that I would never love birthday cake… that is until I discovered ice cream cake. To me, ice cream cake was a symbol of pure perfection. Oh how I craved it and savored it! After scrolling through many home-made ice cream cake recipes I finally created my own. Alice’s Ultimate Ice Cream Cake will leave you and your guests begging for another slice.

Alice’s Ultimate Ice Cream Cake

Cake Ingredients

1 package of hard chocolate chip cookies

¼ of a cup of margarine

1 cup of hot fudge topping

1 container of chocolate ice cream (2L)

1 container of vanilla ice cream (2L)

1 canned whip cream (optional)

Edible gel (optional)

Sprinkles (optional)

Topping layer Ingredients  

1 1/2 cup of cool whip

3/4 tsp of vanilla

684 g of cream cheese (approx.)

1 ½ cup of powdered sugar

Other materials

-plastic wrap

-spring foam pan (10 inches)

Instructions

  1. Place cookies inside a plastic bag. Crush cookies with a rolling pin.
  2. Mix cookie crumbs with ¼ cup of melted margarine. Line pan with plastic wrap. Spread cookie margarine mix onto the bottom of a pan.
  3. Spread 1 cup of hot fudge over cookie crumb base. Freeze for fifteen minutes.
  4. Meanwhile, soften vanilla ice cream on a countertop. Stir occasionally. After crust has chilled, spread softened ice cream onto the crust layer. Freeze for one hour (at least).
  5. Add layer of remaining fudge (do not cover; just scatter fudge here and there). Freeze for fifteen minutes.
  6. Add chocolate layer of ice cream. (Repeat step 4)
  7. Combine cream cheese, powdered sugar and vanilla using a mixer until creamy. Fold in the whipped cream with a spoon. Do not manipulate too much. Spread evenly on top of the ice cream layer. Freeze overnight. (Side note: see topping layer exact measurements)
  8. Add on extra designs. Keep frozen. Serve. Enjoy!

Original recipe makes 1 (10 inch) round cake.

This is my creation. I should mention that I am not a professional cake designer. However, the cake was delicious.

Theicecreamcake

Ice Cream Cake 1

